The community safety accreditation scheme (CSAS) is aimed at public and private sector organisations that contribute to providing a safer community.

These organisations may enter into an arrangement with the chief constable for the accreditation of their staff. The three key aims of the community safety accreditation scheme are to:

  • reduce levels of crime and anti-social behaviour.
  • reduce the fear of crime and increase public reassurance
  • improve information-sharing and partnership working between us and accredited partners


Companies can apply for any number of the more than 40 powers available for their staff, as long as they are relevant to their role. The most common powers requested include:

  • to require name and address for anti-social behaviour
  • to stop cycles
  • to issue fixed penalty notice for fly-posting
  • to issue fixed penalty notice for littering
  • to require name and address for road traffic offences
  • to control traffic for purposes other than escorting a load of exceptional dimensions

All accredited persons (APs) are vetted by the police to non-police personal vetting level 1.5 and must complete a CSAS course run by an approved training provider.

Accredited organisations

The following organisations have individuals currently accredited by us:

  • Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council
  • Isle of Wight Council
  • Portsmouth City Council
  • Totton and Eling Town Council
  • Winchester City Council
  • Bradsons
  • Cash and Traffic Management
  • CSP Ltd
  • Hythe and Dibden Parish Council

You can find a copy of our information sharing agreements in relation to these organisations within our publications and documents section.

Contact us

To request an information pack please email the CSAS coordinator at [email protected]. You can also find more information on the scheme on the website.